Reworking the Room: Home Haul

Every now and then I get these bursts of inspiration and creativity; I feel like whatever I set my mind to I can accomplish. So, this morning I woke up, I went to the gym, I grabbed a coffee, and then I hit up Winners again in search of a few things.

A few days ago when I had been there I had seen a mirror that I knew instantly I wanted. So today I went back and I got it. It was a struggle to get it into my tiny Honda Civic, but after a few pushes and shoves, and a few colourful words I did it! But as soon as I got it home and into my room I knew there was still so much work to be done.

Lately I’ve been living in a rut, and my room has reflected that. There was crap everywhere; clothes that I had never bothered to hang up on the floor, books strewn across the bed, countless bottles of lotion and hand cream on the window sill, and my makeup table looked like a bomb went off on it.

It was going to be a long day.

After working at it for a few hours, I remembered seeing a few other things at Winners that I suddenly decided I wanted. Plus now I was really into things, and I wanted to go back and have a good look at things. The Winners in my town has a great homeware section! I am constantly finding awesome things, but I hadn’t taken a good look in a while, and it was time to change that.

FullSizeRender-49

FullSizeRender-52

The first thing I found were these adorable jewellery boxes! I love the one in the bottom picture especially. The top one was about $10, and the bottom $13. Currently they are sitting on top of my dresser, holding rings and necklaces.

 

 

Then I found this black chair! Ever since I moved into this house (like nine months ago) I have been sitting on an old wicker storage box to do my makeup. It’s not comfortable, and it’s not pretty. Finally, it was time to ditch it!

FullSizeRender-48The chair cost me about $70

My dresser and makeup table are now nice and organized, and pushed up against a wall beside each other. The picture above my makeup table is not new, but I finally got around to hanging it. It’s by a local artist and I am obsessed with it! I saw it at an art showing at the wine bar in town, and then again a few months later for sale at the local pub. It was a sign; I had to have it.

FullSizeRender-47

My bed; newly pushed up against the window, with these Spring-inspired floral cushions, also purchased today at Winners. It was $30 for the pair. What you can’t see in the picture are some new sheets on the bed, bought for $30 as well.

FullSizeRender-50

And finally; the gem that set the whole day in motion! The mirror; purchased for $60. It’s black with a gold rim on the inset, and I love it. Also, check out my classy outfit of the day: black leggings, an old University of Edinburgh sweatshirt, and sweaty gym hair. Aren’t I stylish!

I feel like tonight I will sleep so peacefully in my new room! Everything finally feels like it has a place, and trust me, that is a good feeling. What are some of your favourite things to decorate your space with? Are you changing anything up for Spring? I’d love to know!

x

5 Comments Add yours

    1. sophialo says:

      Thank you! I’d love to check it out 🙂

      Like

  1. Jessica Jade says:

    I love everything! Specially the jewellery boxes, they are gorgeous!

    https://jessicajadebeauty.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. sophialo says:

      Thank you! They are definitely my favourites too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

