How to Clean a Beauty Blender

Hello friends!

In my post How Do You Apply Your Foundation? , the general consensus seemed to be that a beauty blender was preferred, and I would have to agree! However that sparked the question, how do you properly clean these bad boys? Well, I decided to do a little research and thought it only fair to share with you what I came up with!

Tips and Tricks on How to Use

Okay, but first of all, did you know you are supposed to dampen the sponge before you use it?? Because I did not and I feel so silly!

Apparently this helps the product sit on top of the sponge, rather than being absorbed and sucked into it, which makes your makeup go on smoother and easier. Seriously, who knew?? Not this girl.

Also, when applying, bounce the blender up and down on your skin. You want to dab the makeup on, not smear or spread it. It creates a more seamless finish this way.

Cleaning

Clean makeup tools are so important! You don’t want to irritate your skin after all. Beauty Blenders and sponges should be cleaned often and replaced every few months.

So here’s what I do; I use dish soap to clean my beauty blender. I use it to clean all my makeup brushes! For brushes I use a mixture of dish soap and olive oill, but for the sponge just the soap and warm water.

You don’t want to use anything too harsh on the sponge! You don’t want it to deteriorate, but also keep in mind that you are putting it on your face after, and you wouldn’t put harsh soaps or bleaches on your face.

Easy to Follow Steps

  1. Dampen the sponge with warm water
  2. Add the soap to the areas that need the most love.
  3. Massage the soap in with your fingers, but be gentle! You don’t want to damage the sponge.
  4. Add water and rinse, continuing to massage the sponge, working the water through it.
  5. Rinse until you get all the suds out and the water runs clear
  6. Leave to dry

 

And there you go! It’s that simple. I hope you find this post helpful, and that maybe you learned something new. Do you have any tips and tricks that I can use?

FullSizeRender-154

x

 

Leave a Reply

