Revlon ColorStay 24 HR. Review

Hello my sweets!

First off, shout-out to all the moms out there; Happy Mother’s Day! Hope you’re being spoiled.

I purchased this Revlon Colorstay Foundation quite some time ago. I’d heard a lot of bloggers and Youtubers talk about it, and so I thought I would give it a go for myself. I remember not being completely satisfied with it at the time, but I thought I would give it another go since it’s been a little while, and the bottle is still more or less full, just sitting on my makeup table, begging to be put to good use. So I set aside my previous doubts and tried again.

… Maybe I shouldn’t have bothered.

I bought the formula designed for normal/ dry skin. For the most part my skin is pretty ordinary. I get some dry patches on my forehead around my eyebrows, and on my nose. But this formula just didn’t work for me. I found it very cakey, and it was quite visible that I had makeup on my face. It looked like it had been applied with no care at all, and it just sat on top of my skin and didn’t blend whatsoever. It made my skin look so much more dried out than it actually was, and no matter how much I tried, I couldn’t buff out the lines.

FullSizeRender-182

I so badly wanted to love this foundation! Like I said, I’ve heard good things, but I guess maybe it just doesn’t work with my skin type. And it’s not cheap! I think I paid about $19.99 (canadian) for it, and that’s quite up there for a drugstore foundation!

Sadly, I think this is just a write off. Maybe I’ll try again, because I’m an optimist, but at this point it’s doubtful. And who knows, maybe it’s just something in the chemicals of my skin, maybe it actually is the great foundation that others have told me it is! But for me, it is definitely not.

So will I repurchase? I think you probably guessed the answer on this one; I sure as heck won’t! And that makes me sad because I think Revlon is a great brand and I love so many of their other products.

Have any of you tried this foundation? Did you have better luck than me? I hope you did!

I hope some of you found this helpful or insightful, and I hope you are all having a great day and enjoying your weekend!

Peace and Love x

cropped-66.jpg

6 Comments Add yours

  1. tinaaamv says:

    Thank you! Everyone raves about this foundation and I…. I just hate it.

    I bought the combo/oily one and it is the exact same. I keep it though because it was so pricey and I keep thinking that maybe one day I’ll eventually like it.

    It doesn’t blend for me at all either and also looks very heavy on me. The only good part is that the shade I got matches me pretty darn closely if not exactly.

    Tina | http://tinaaamv.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophialo says:

      Oh my gosh thank god I’m not the only one! I thought I was crazy for not loving this but I’m glad you agree! It’s just not good. Which is so disappointing 😕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had the same experience. Did not get on with this foundation at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophialo says:

      Yeah! It’s just not at all what I was hoping it would be.

      Like

  3. That was a really honest review! Thank you 🙂
    Checkout my blog 🙂
    https://stethoandstiletto.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sophialo says:

      Thanks ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

