Why I Went Blonde

Even though it’s been a while since I transitioned to blonde, I am still CONSTANTLY getting asked by people:

Why girl? Why did you trade your natural, beautiful brunette locks for these fierce blonde ones?

Okay, maybe they don’t ask in those exact words, but ya know. You get it.

Why does a girl ever drastically change anything about herself?

I got my heart broken, DUH!

Seriously. After I got out of my last relationship I felt lost; lost and alone. I needed to take charge and I needed to be able to control and change something on MY terms. So I woke up one day, I looked in the mirror, and I decided to make a change.

I wanted to feel like someone else; I wanted to not be able to recognize myself. I wanted to be a different girl. A girl who wouldn’t be so easy to forget; who wouldn’t let a boy treat her the way I had.

It sounds really sad, because you know what, it was. Sometimes it still is. As human beings we don’t get over things like that easily. And even though it wasn’t true love, and even though it wasn’t a relationship that lasted years, it still changed me; in ways both good and bad.

I didn’t change my hair in an attempt to become a girl that a guy would want, I changed my hair because I wanted to be a girl that I wanted to be.

At first I didn’t even recognize myself; sometimes I still don’t, but honestly, I LOVE THAT.

When I changed my hair, in a way I discovered myself. I became a little bolder, a little wilder, and a little sassier. Sometimes I miss being a brunette; I was one for 23 years it would be weird if I didn’t. And I’m sure one day I will go back, but for now, the blonde version of myself is enjoying taking a little walk on the wild side.

It’s kinda true: blondes have more fun. Or maybe it’s just this new version of me that has more fun.

I changed my hair, because I needed to change something and have a little control in my life. I had no idea that I would end up changing so much more.

So ladies (and boys!) if you’re craving a change, or if you’re feeling a little sad or heartbroken, I say friggin go for it! Get your nipples pierced, die your hair pink, get a new tattoo, try out a new fashion style, do whatever the hell you want! This is your life, so grab it by the balls and do something for you. I have no regrets, and I don’t think you will either.

I feel like I’m rambling, and not explaining myself very well, but that’s just the way I roll. SO if you made it to the end of this post (congrats, it was a weird one I know!) Then just know that I went blonde to have fun in my life.

You should try it.

Peace x

5 thoughts on “Why I Went Blonde

  1. Girl, you are amazing. Besides the fact that you look gorgeous either way (which is really hard for most to pull off), I love your honesty behind it. I appreciate you doing what you need to do for you! It’s hard for people to grasp that, including myself. This post is inspirational. Love it.

    Like

    1. All your comments are so lovely! You seriously make my day. I really appreciate it, and now, honestly I can’t imagine life without the blonde! I’m so glad you liked this post and got something out of it πŸ™‚ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

