2016 Highlights

Happy New Year my beautiful blog friends!

I hope you all had a safe and happy new years eve!

Towards the end of 2016 everyone seemed to be getting so negative; myself included. I was ready to put 2016 behind me and look to the future and to what 2017 had to offer. But now, looking back on it, I want to give my best moments of 2016 a little honourable mention. It was a year filled with a lot of ups, but also a lot of downs! Between getting my heart broken and my grandmother passing, it was a lot to handle at times. But I got through, just like I always do, and I managed to have a lot of great times and adventures along the way!

Let’s recap

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my favourite things about 2016 was the Legends of the Valley Music Festival. I spent the day with some of my favourite people and got to see two of my all time favourite bands perform; Sublime With Rome, and The Dirty Heads. If you don’t know these bands, I seriously suggest you go and look them up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Euro Trip 2016 was UNREAL. I booked this trip because I needed to get over my broken heart after my Grandmother died, and because I needed to try and find myself a little bit. And boy did I ever! England, Italy, Vatican City, France, Monaco, and Spain. I wouldn’t trade that experience for anything. I met amazing people, made amazing friends, tried new things, and came home with a bit of a better understanding of myself.

isla2

Probably my favourite and certainly my most important highlight is my beautiful niece. Watching her grow and learn is the most amazing gift I could ever ask for. She has made my bad days so much better, and my good days amazing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This highlight literally just happened! My NYE celebrations! I have never had a big, fun, party new years, and this year I finally did that! It was quite the drastic change from last year, and I couldn’t be happier about that. I had an unreal night with unreal people, and I will never forget it. I danced the night away, I got more dressed up than I think I’ve ever been (and loved it), and I ended it walking through the snow at the harbour (at 3am on New Years Day) with my best friends.

FullSizeRender-19

This last highlight is without a doubt ongoing, but in the year 2016 I finally learned to start letting go of what I can’t control, and love myself for who I am. Nobody is perfect, and I don’t want to be. I just want to be the best version of myself and this past year has definitely helped me realize that. I can’t wait to keep growing in 2017 and learning more about myself.

It was a crazy year, and I can’t wait for the crazy one that is about to come.

Peace x

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mackenzie says:

    I’m so glad that your NYE celebration topped off the last year on a good note!!!! I can’t wait to see what AWESOME things happen this year for you! I hope this year is just the best !

    Like

    1. sophialo says:

      You are so sweet, and I appreciate all of your uplifting comments! I hope this year is your best one yet! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

